Sarah’s Position

sarah position

One day, while we were studying the hall of faith in Hebrews 11, my attention was drawn to verse 11 – Through faith also Sara herself received strength to conceive seed, and was delivered of a child when she was past age, because she judged him faithful who had promised(Heb 11:11)   To be honest, I did not quite understand the verse, so in my curiosity I read it countless times, in whatever versions I could find.  The first line kept resounding in my ears,

KJV Through faith also Sara herself received strength to conceive seed
Amplified Because of faith also Sarah herself received physical power to conceive a child
Berean study bible By faith Sarah, … was enabled to conceive a child
New American Standard By faith even Sarah herself received ability to conceive

 

All I could figure out was that Sarah took a position in obedience to God’s words and prophecies concerning her conception.  She chose to receive strength, power, enablement and ability to conceive.   So sitting on my inspiration seat (i.e. the toilet seat lol), I began to go over this scripture, replacing Sarah’s name with mine to read – ‘By faith I, Chinyere am enabled to conceive my child, I receive strength to conceive and carry my baby to full term’.  I joined Sarah in her position – the position of faith.  For me, it created an atmosphere of renewed hope and expectation.  So, I explained that verse to everyone who cared to listen how I’m now living a life of faith like Sarah, and received power to conceive.

What’s your current position?

uncertain

Waiting is no easy feat.  More so, when you have done all that is within your power to no avail for a few or longer years just like Sarah.  The truth is that God understands our frailty and the limitations we face as humans especially while waiting for an uncertain period of time but yet longs that we begin to take Him and His words seriously – to trust Him.  For example, do we really believe that God hears us when we call? Do we really believe that He has a good plan for our lives?  Do we put much faith in God as we put on the doctors? Doctors are here to help us, based on past findings, research and diagnosis but their words should not be final in our lives.  There is a place for the supernatural, which we call a miracle.

Last week, we shared the Idahosa’s journey to parenthood if you missed it, CLICK HERE to read it. Let their testimony become a prophecy to you today.  God is not a respecter of persons, what He has done for one, He can do for others.  God is faithful.  Why not take Sarah’s position?  Sarah’s position is the position of faith and absolute truth in God.   Her absolute faith in God gave her the required strength for conception and delivery because in all her estimations, she judged God faithful to be able to do as He has promised.

IMG_1706

What has God promised you?  Take a Sarah position.  Her position of absolute faith was so profound that she was enlisted in the chapter of faith alongside great men like Enoch, Abraham, Noah, Daniel, David etc – because she won the battle in her mind.  She believed God totally.  What will you do today?

Prayer

Father you are faithful, thank you for your beautiful gifts, joy, peace and for life.  Thank you for strength, today by faith I receive the strength to conceive my babies and deliver safely in Jesus name.

I believe God for you.

6 thoughts on “Sarah’s Position

  1. I feel like crying…. Crying deep tears of Joy.
    I am on a low budget at the moment. So though ivf has been continuously advised. I can’t dream of affording it. Just reading the Idahosa’s story was a reminder that God can do it even without Ivf. thank you for this blog.

    Like

Pls Like and Leave a Reply